SAFF Championship 2023 Teams, Group, Venue, Winners, Results

SAFF Championship or SAFF Cup is the short form of the South Asian Football Federation Championship. For the first time, it took place in 1993 and the 14th edition is knocking at the door. Here GTV Live will disclose the SAFF Championship 2023 Teams, Groups, Host, Venue, Winners, Results, and more. SAFF Championship 2023 Schedule, Fixture, Date, Match Time BD.

SAFF Championship 2023 Teams, Group, Venue, Winners, Results

Where is the SAFF Championship 2023? Which team is the current champion of the SAFF Championship? Which teams are participating in the SAFF championship 2023?

SAFF Championship Teams

Generally, a SAFF Championship edition normally features the 8 South Asian nations but the number of teams and participants may vary from edition to edition. The 2023 SAFF Championship will feature 8 teams.

SAFF Championship 2023 Team List

  • India
  • Bangladesh
  • Pakistan
  • Nepal
  • Bhutan
  • Maldives
  • Lebanon
  • Kuwait

SAFF Championship 2023 Groups

There will be 2 groups: A & B. Each group will feature 4 teams.

Group AGroup B

SAFF Championship 2023 Host

The authorities declared India as the host of this edition of the SAFF Championship on 14 February 2023. Sri Lanka was supposed to host the competition but was later suspended by FIFA. Nepal also had the intention but it was India who grabbed the privilege at the end.

SAFF Championship 2023 Results
SAFF Championship 2023 Teams List, Groups

SAFF Championship 2023 Venue

Bengaluru was announced as the centralized venue of the SAFF Championship 2023 by AIFF on 19 March 2023. The Sree Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru will serve as the host stadium for all 15 matches of the competition. The venue has a capacity of around 25 thousand.

SAFF Championship Winners List

Year and EditionHostChampionRunners-Up
1993 (1st)PakistanIndiaSri Lanka
1995 (2nd)Sri LankaSri LankaIndia
1997 (3rd)NepalIndiaMaldives
1999 (4th)IndiaIndiaBangladesh
2003 (5th)BangladeshBangladeshMaldives
2005 (6th)PakistanIndiaBangladesh
2008 (7th)Maldives & Sri LankaMaldivesIndia
2009 (8th)BangladeshIndiaMaldives
2011 (9th)IndiaIndiaAfghanistan
2013 (10th)NepalAfghanistanIndia
2015 (11th)IndiaIndiaAfghanistan
2018 (12th)BangladeshMaldivesIndia
2021 (13th)MaldivesIndiaNepal
2023 (14th)IndiaTBDTBD

SAFF Championship 2023 Results

MatchFixtureWinner and Result
Group A, Match 01KUW vs NEPKuwait
Group A, Match 02IND vs PAKIndia
Group B, Match 03LBN vs BANLebanon
Group B, Match 04MDV vs BHUMaldives
Group A, Match 05PAK vs KUWKuwait
Group A, Match 06NEP vs INDIndia
Group B, Match 07BAN vs MDV-Bangladesh
Group B, Match 08BHU vs LBNLebanon
Group A, Match 09NEP vs PAKNepal
Group A, Match 10IND vs KUWDraw
Group B, Match 11LBN vs MDVLebanon
Group B, Match 12BHU vs BANBangladesh
1st SemifinalKUW vs BAN
2nd SemifinalLBN vs IND
FinalSF-1 Winner vs SF-2 Winner

Where is the Saff Championship 2023?

The SAFF Championship 2023 will be hosted in India. Bengaluru will have the privilege the host city and Sree Kanteerava Stadium will serve as the venue.

Host NationIndia
Host CityBengaluru
StadiumSree Kanteerava Stadium
Which team is the current champion of Saff Championship
SAFF Championship Winners List (1993-2023)

Which team is the current champion of Saff Championship?

The current champion of the SAFF Championship is India. The biggest nation in the region defeated Nepal in the 2021 SAFF Final to clinch their 8th title in history. They got the better of their neighboring country by 3-0 in the final at the National Football Stadium in Malé.

Who won the 2011 SAFF Championship?

India won the 2011 SAFF Championship at their own background. They beat the Afghans in the final.

Lincoln Shifat

Sports writer and expert Lincoln Shifat joined GTV in 2022. He's long been established as one of the football & cricket freaks in the community. He is always active with updated football news happening around the globe.

Related Articles

Back to top button